Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth, Book Review

 

Goodreads Blurb

What if your whole world was a lie?
What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything?
What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?

The explosive conclusion to Veronica Roth’s #1 New York Times best-selling Divergent trilogy reveals the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

 

My Review

My rating: 2.5*

Imagine you’re a child. You’re just about old enough to understand what Christmas is because you’ve just had it, and you’re already looking forward to the next one. Unwrapping presents is so much fun! It’s exciting, mysterious. What will be inside?

But it’s January and you have a whole year to wait. You wish the time away, wish it to speed up, go faster, because you can’t wait for Christmas to come, yet no amount of wishing makes it come any sooner. You have to be patient. Wait. 

Days pass.

Weeks.

Months.

Until eventually it’s December again and Christmas is coming! Finally, the day arrives. You get up, a year older with a years worth of excitement contained within you. But still you have to wait, because you can’t open your presents till after dinner and, as much as you enjoy the day, you can’t help thinking about unwrapping your presents.

What will be in them? you wonder.

Until, at last! Its time.

Slowly you peel of the pretty wrapping paper. You open the box, a delighted smile waiting to be worn on your face. You open the box, lift the lid, anticipation making your fingers tremble, and inside are…the rotted bones of your favourite pet.

That’s how I feel about this book.

On a technical note, it’s well written, though it lacks the fun element I so enjoyed in Divergent.

That’s all.

5 Comments

  1. I second your review, but i absolutely feel that it was badly written as well. Well, who am I to judge, but changing character view from our heroine in the first book to Four’s accounts was a low blow, it was inconsistent with what first got my attention in the series and the ending was anticlimatic.

    Sorry that i have to be so negative, but all I hear is mostly a combination between polite disappointment and silence. I’m glad I saw your review. I feel validated, lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your comments, tyrocharm. My usual stance when I read a book I don’t like is simply not to review it. But your reasons for your disappointment is exactly why I felt I had to review this book. I loved the first two books and was bitterly disappointed with how the series ended. That’s what I was trying to express in my review. But the fact that I really don’t like writing negative reviews is what prompted me to write a separate post.
      And you never have to apologise for giving an honest opininon 🙂

      Like

  2. I didnt mind this one. Without giving away spoilers….I wasnt too invested in what happened. I’m interested if there is one element that disappointed you. Was it “the event?” I have to agree about the two povs though. It was never clear who was who and it felt like an opportunity to show that Tris is always right yet again.

    Like

    • It’s not so much that I had a problem with how the book was written. And it’s not that the book was “bad”. I was just hugely disappointed with where the story went. I loved the first book, had a few Tris issues with the second, and just felt the whole of this book was anticlimactic. And it’s not that I need every book to be puppies and candy floss, but I do appreciate some emotional satisfaction, some levity and balance when I read YA. There were just too many let downs even before the “event”. And there’s an M word I want to use about Tris but don’t want to give away any spoilers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

